Malta International Airport reopened on July 1, 2020 and commercial flights to and from Malta resumed from that date. Certain restrictions may apply, depending on whether the traveller is coming from a country that is included on the GreenAmber or Red list, as outlined below:

Latest Update: 07/10/2020 – Sweden added to Green List)

Green List

Travellers coming to Malta from the ‘Green List’ of safe countries will NOT be subjected to a swab test on arrival. There will only be thermal screening at the airport and persons arriving will be asked to fill a self-declaration form requesting information on their travels in the previous 30 days. Specifically, they will be asked to confirm that they have not travelled anywhere outside the safe countries listed.

At present, the following countries are on the ‘Green List’:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France (except for passengers arriving from Paris and Marseille)
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Sweden
  • Spain (except for passengers arriving from Barcelona, Girona and Madrid)
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City


Amber List

Passengers arriving from countries on the ‘Amber List’ are required to submit a negative COVID-19 PCR test certificate before boarding flights to Malta. The swab test should be carried out within the previous 72 hours. For increased security, random swab tests may be conducted on passengers upon arrival at the Malta International Airport.

At present, the following countries are on the ‘Amber List’:

  • Czech Republic
  • France (Paris and Marseille)
  • Romania
  • Spain (applies to passengers arriving from Barcelona, Girona and Madrid)
  • Tunisia


Red List

All countries not included on the Green List or Amber List are automatically included on the ‘Red List’. Passengers arriving from these countries must have spent at least the previous 14 days in one of the safe corridor countries before reaching Malta. It is also recommended that these passengers undertake a PCR test within 72 hours prior to arrival.

NOTE: Lists may be updated from time to time.

more info

Shopping Cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue Shopping